PolkTX
POLK COUNTY, TEXAS
NOT THE POLK COUNTY GOVERNMENT · LOOKING FOR THE COUNTY? POLKTX.GOV
PolkTX · Public Safety

Licence plate readers in Polk County

Livingston put five cameras on the five roads into town in April 2022. The county added four of its own in February 2024, and a private foundation has paid their upkeep ever since. This is the whole record, out of the city's and the county's own files.

What this page is and is not

PolkTX is not a law enforcement agency and takes no position on whether the county should have these cameras. This page reports agency-level figures only — no search records, no incidents, no arrests. It carries no advertising. Every figure is cited to the county file it was read out of.

What they are

An automated licence plate reader photographs every passing plate and logs where and when a vehicle was seen. Most systems also record make, model and colour. The result is a searchable history of vehicle movements, held for a set period and queried by agencies during investigations. Flock Safety is the most common vendor among Texas law enforcement agencies. Polk County's contract sets its retention period at 30 days.

The record, in order

Every Commissioners Court and Livingston City Council agenda and minutes file published between 2022-01-11 and 2026-09-08 was read. These are all of the entries that mention a plate reader.

  1. Apr 2022 Livingston The city goes first, with five cameras
  2. Nov 2022 Livingston Seven months on, the department reports back
  3. May 2023 County A plate reader arrives as a donation
  4. Feb 2024 County The county votes, and signs, with Flock
  5. Feb 2024 County The Court adopts the missing minutes
  6. Apr 2024 Onalaska Onalaska's council adopts an ALPR policy, five months before the Flock item
  7. Apr 2024 County The Court ratifies it
  8. Sep 2024 Onalaska Onalaska puts a Flock policy on the agenda, and the council does not pass it
  9. Jan 2025 Livingston The council talks about putting them in subdivisions
  10. Feb 2025 County A foundation pays the maintenance, for the second year
  11. Nov 2025 Livingston The state's right-of-way is opened to them
  12. Apr 2026 Livingston A state grant is applied for, with Flock in the room
  13. May 2026 County The Sheriff asks to move Flock onto the county's books
  14. Jun 2026 Onalaska A resident objects to the cameras in Onalaska
  15. Jul 2026 Onalaska A second resident objects, at the very next meeting
  16. Jul 2026 County $54,000 requested, and not carried across
  17. Aug 2026 County The $54,000 is not in the budget the Court adopted
  18. Sep 2026 PolkTX PolkTX asks the county for the missing minutes — and gets an answer on day five
  19. Sep 2026 PolkTX PolkTX asks Onalaska what happened to item 12
  20. Sep 2026 County The county publishes the minutes, the morning after being asked
  21. Sep 2026 County The Sheriff comes back for $45,000, and the Court has to find it
  22. Sep 2026 County The Sheriff's own letter: the $9,000 is asset forfeiture, and the state has stopped paying
  23. Sep 2026 Livingston Onalaska answers the question for nothing, and halves the price of the rest
April 12, 2022 · Livingston City Council · item II.B

The city goes first, with five cameras

“PROPOSED RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CONTRACT AGREEMENT WITH FLOCK GROUP, INC. FOR THE ACQUISITION, INSTALLATION, MAINTENANCE AND MONITORING OF FIVE (5) AUTOMATED LICENSE PLATE RECOGNITION (ALPR) CAMERAS”

Adopted as Resolution No. 596. Moved by Alderman Clarke Evans, seconded by Alderman Alan Cook, all present voting aye. Mayor Judy B. Cochran presiding. Police Chief Matt Parrish and Lieutenant Marty Drake presented first; the minutes record the council discussing the cameras' use as an investigative tool, data storage and retrieval, cost, possible future expansion, and “location of the cameras at the five major entrances into the city.”

This is twenty-two months before the county signed its own contract, and it is the only document in either body's record that says where any camera is.

City record · Minutes

November 8, 2022 · Livingston City Council · item II

Seven months on, the department reports back

“UPDATE BY LIVINGSTON POLICE DEPARTMENT CHIEF MATT PARRISH AND LIEUTENANT MARTY DRAKE REGARDING USE OF FLOCK GROUP, INC. AUTOMATED LICENSE PLATE RECOGNITION CAMERAS”

An informational item with no vote. The minutes record the department describing activity “including the recovery of stolen property, felony arrests and warrant arrests”, and the council discussing system features “including the networking of local, state-wide and out-of-state agencies and data available for traffic studies.”

No figures were minuted, so there is nothing here to count. The networking of out-of-state agencies is the only statement in either body's record about where the data goes.

City record · Minutes

May 16, 2023 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 4.K

A plate reader arrives as a donation

“ACCEPT AUTOMATED LICENSE PLATE READER AND SPEED TRAILER DONATED TO POLK COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE.”

Approved on the consent agenda. Motioned by Jerry Cassity, seconded by Guylene Robertson, all voting yes. County Judge absent; Commissioner Purvis presiding.

The minutes name no donor and no vendor. Whether this is a Flock device is not on the record.

County record · Minutes file 3452

February 13, 2024 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 11

The county votes, and signs, with Flock

“11. MOTIONED BY MARK DUBOSE, SECONDED BY JERRY CASSITY, TO APPROVE FLOCK SYSTEM FOR SHERIFF’S OFFICE IN THE AMOUNT OF $31,600 AND $1,600 TO BE FUNDED FROM SHERIFF’S CURRENT BUDGET. ALL VOTING YES.”

Approved on the motion of Mark DuBose, seconded by Jerry Cassity, all voting yes. A Flock Safety order form for four Falcon cameras, signed by County Judge Sydney Murphy and dated February 13, 2024, sits at pages 136 to 138 of the agenda packet for this meeting, and the $31,600 in the motion is the contract total on that form.

For two and a half years no minutes for this meeting were published. The portal served fileId 3403 as the minutes — 143 pages of the agenda and its attachments, carrying none of the markers real Polk County minutes carry. The county published these, fileId 4630, on 2026-09-16, the morning after PolkTX asked for them.

County record · Minutes file 4630

February 27, 2024 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 6.A

The Court adopts the missing minutes

“APPROVE MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: FEBRUARY 13, 2024 (REGULAR SESSION).”

Approved on the consent agenda. Motioned by Milton Purvis, seconded by Jerry Cassity, all voting yes.

So the February 13 minutes exist and were adopted. They are simply not the file the portal serves.

County record · Minutes file 3406

April 1, 2024 · Onalaska City Council · item 6

Onalaska's council adopts an ALPR policy, five months before the Flock item

“It was moved by Kevin Arnett and a second was made by Zachary Davies to approve Resolution 2024-008 adopting Police Department Policy 5.4 Automated License Plate Recognition.”

Adopted. "VOTE: For – All; Against – None. Motion carried." A special called meeting at noon on Monday, April 1, 2024, posted March 28 and previewed on the front page of the Polk County Enterprise on March 31. Present: Mayor James W. Arnett, councilmembers Kevin Arnett, Zachary Davies and T. D. Jennings, and City Administrator Angela Stutts; Ronald Gilbert and Shirley Gilmore absent. The meeting ran 12:00 to 12:07 p.m. and the minutes were approved and attested on April 9, 2024. Policy 5.4 sets ALPR use, deployment along TxDOT and county roads, and a 365-day retention schedule. It is the policy the city produced under PolkTX's records request as "Onalaska Police Department Resolution 2024-008", and the resolution the city's TxDOT right-of-way agreement cites as its authority.

THIS PAGE MISSED IT FOR TWO WEEKS, and said things it should not have as a result. The minutes are on the city's site but filed under a 2021 name — minutes/2021-04-01_special_called_meeting_minutes.pdf — and the meeting was not in the list every sweep started from, so a reader of the city's own index would find them and a sweep by date would not. Found on 2026-10-01. What the record still does not show: council approval of the Flock order form itself, signed by the Mayor on June 24, 2024, which no minutes of that summer mention.

City record · Minutes

April 23, 2024 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 5.O

The Court ratifies it

“RATIFY APPROVAL OF RESOLUTION FOR FLOCK PROGRAM APPROVED ON FEBRUARY 13, 2024.”

Approved on the consent agenda. Motioned by Milton Purvis, seconded by Mark DuBose, all voting yes. All members present, Judge Murphy presiding.

County record · Minutes file 3413

September 10, 2024 · Onalaska City Council · item 12

Onalaska puts a Flock policy on the agenda, and the council does not pass it

“Review and approve Police Department Policy 9.1 - Flock Cameras.”

No record of what happened. The minutes of the same meeting carry every other numbered item with its motion, its second and its vote — Ordinance 456 the budget, Ordinance 457 the tax rate, Resolution 2024-025, Resolution 2024-026 — and go straight from the item before this one to the item after it. Item 12 is also missing from the minutes’ own recital of the meeting’s purpose, which lists 10, 11, 13 and 14. The meeting ran 5:00 to 5:13 p.m. Present: Mayor James W. Arnett, Mayor ProTem Shirley Gilmore, councilmembers Kevin Arnett, T. D. Jennings and Kathy Lott; Zachary Davies excused. Police Chief Byron Dunaway attended. ANSWERED BY THE CITY ON 24 SEPTEMBER 2026. Asked under the Public Information Act what became of item 12, the City of Onalaska replied in writing that “the item concerning Police Department Policy 9.1 – Flock Cameras was not passed by the City Council” and that the approved minutes “document the actions taken on the other listed action items but contain no action or vote on the Flock policy item”. For two years this entry could only say the published record did not contain a vote. The city now says there was none. WHY, FROM A CONTEMPORARY REPORT. The Polk County Enterprise wrote on September 19, 2024: "One item on the agenda was skipped because a policy was already in place. This was review and consideration of Onalaska Police Department Policy 9.1, regarding Flock cameras." The policy already in place was Policy 5.4, which the council had adopted as Resolution 2024-008 on April 1, 2024 — see that entry above.

The item is on the agenda and absent from the minutes, and the city has confirmed that the absence is the answer rather than an omission: the policy did not pass. The newspaper account explains it — skipped, because a policy was already in place — and the council record bears that out: Policy 5.4 had been adopted by the council five months earlier. What the minutes still do not do is say so; an item noted "no action taken" would have spared two years of not knowing. CORRECTED 2026-10-01: this entry used to end "the cameras were searching, under a policy the council had not adopted". That was wrong. The cameras were searching under Policy 5.4, which the council adopted 3–0 on April 1, 2024.

City record · Agenda

January 14, 2025 · Livingston City Council · item II

The council talks about putting them in subdivisions

“UPDATE BY LIVINGSTON POLICE DEPARTMENT REGARDING THE FLOCK CAMERA SYSTEM AND THE AXON IN-CAR RECORDING SYSTEM”

An informational item with no vote. Chief Matt Parrish and Lieutenant David Mitchell described the Flock system “installed in various locations within the City”. The minutes record the council discussing “installation of additional cameras, installation of cameras in subdivisions and at local businesses, coordination with other agencies in monitoring and coordinated responses to FLOCK notifications, use of the FLOCK system and the AXON system as investigative tools, and costs related to the purchase of equipment and maintenance of the software system.”

Nothing was decided and no figure was minuted. This is the first time expansion beyond the city's entrances reaches the record.

City record · Minutes

February 25, 2025 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 12

A foundation pays the maintenance, for the second year

“ACCEPT DONATION TO THE POLK COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE IN THE AMOUNT OF $10,000 TO BE USED FOR FLOCK CAMERA MAINTENANCE ($6,150) AND TRAINING EXPENSES ($3,850).”

Approved on the consent agenda, 4 votes yes, 0 no. Motioned by Mark DuBose, seconded by Guylene Robertson. Judge Murphy absent; Commissioner Purvis presiding.

The minutes name no donor. The agenda packet does: a letter from Sheriff Byron A. Lyons to Judge Murphy, dated January 23, 2025, at page 180 of file 1885, identifies the donor as the Smith Family Foundation of Livingston and says it is the second year the Foundation has given, "with last year's funds being used for the purchase and maintenance of Flock Cameras." The letter allocates the $3,850 to securing the Commerce Center on May 12, 2025 for a state-mandated command-and-control course.

County record · Minutes file 1893

November 12, 2025 · Livingston City Council · item II.E

The state's right-of-way is opened to them

“PROPOSED RESOLUTION REGARDING TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION MULTIPLE-USE AGREEMENT FOR INSTALLATION AND OPERATION OF AUTOMATED LICENSE PLATE RECOGNITION CAMERAS IN TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION RIGHT-OF-WAY”

Adopted as Resolution No. 643. Moved by Alderman Clarke Evans, seconded by Alderman Jackson, all present voting aye. Chief David Mitchell and Lieutenant Jack Mueller presented first, and the minutes record the council discussing “the location of the cameras, the addition of outbound cameras, the FLOCK drone program and potential grant funding, and the number of cameras currently in use.”

The agreement is the legal mechanism for mounting cameras on state highway right-of-way rather than city property. The number currently in use was discussed and not minuted, so the five authorised in 2022 remains the only count on the record.

City record · Minutes

April 14, 2026 · Livingston City Council · item

A state grant is applied for, with Flock in the room

“PROPOSED RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE SUBMISSION OF A GRANT APPLICATION BY THE LIVINGSTON POLICE DEPARTMENT FOR THE MOTOR VEHICLE CRIME PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MVCPA) GRANT PROGRAM UNDER THE S.B. 224 CATALYTIC CONVERTER GRANT PROGRAM”

Adopted as Resolution No. 649. Moved by Alderman Clarke Evans, seconded by Alderman Jackson, all present voting aye. Chief David Mitchell and Lieutenant Jack Mueller gave the council an overview of “operation of the FLOCK camera system and potential uses of the FLOCK drone”, and the minutes record discussion of the grant's 20% city match “and the ownership and maintenance of the FLOCK equipment.”

The resolution is a grant application, not a camera purchase. What the grant would buy is not stated in the minutes.

City record · Minutes

May 12, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item FY2027 budget workshop

The Sheriff asks to move Flock onto the county's books

“Flock Safety (LPR) — grant to budget transition — Grant-funded — $54,000”

The Sheriff's FY2027 request lists Flock among software and contract increases. The workshop summary says: "Flock is currently grant-funded; moving it to budget now protects operations if grant ends." One of the questions put to the Court is the grant's status: "The Sheriff's Office is currently applying for a grant to continue funding. What is the projected timeline for notice of awarded funding?"

This is the first thing on the record since 2025 that establishes the cameras are still running. It also says the money has been coming from a grant, which no earlier item mentions.

County record · Minutes file 3295

June 9, 2026 · Onalaska City Council · item Public forum

A resident objects to the cameras in Onalaska

“Robert Mondshine - Concerns regarding Flock Camera use.”

Recorded under Public Forum and nothing further. Texas law bars a council from deliberating on a matter not posted on its agenda, so no answer at the meeting is what the law requires rather than a refusal. It is the first of two objections in consecutive months; a different resident raised the cameras again on July 14.

The first time a member of the public is recorded raising the cameras with either council. Nothing follows it in the record.

City record · Minutes

July 14, 2026 · Onalaska City Council · item Public forum

A second resident objects, at the very next meeting

“Bobbie Moore - Concerns regarding Flock Camera use.”

One month after Robert Mondshine raised the same thing, a different resident raised it again, and again nothing follows it in the record. Texas law bars a council from deliberating on a matter not posted on its agenda, so silence at the meeting is what the law requires. Two consecutive meetings is no longer an isolated complaint.

These minutes are not published as a file of their own. The city posted the July 14 agenda and no minutes; the minutes exist only inside the council packet for the following meeting, on August 11. PolkTX found them by sweeping the packets, which the earlier sweep of agendas and minutes could not see.

City record · Minutes, inside the August 11 2026 council packet

July 14, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item FY2027 preliminary budget

$54,000 requested, and not carried across

“Flock Camera Maintenance Agreement (NEW) 010-2560-3560 — $54,000.00”

The Sheriff's preliminary FY2027 budget carries the line under account 010-2560-3560 (Contracts), with $54,000 in the request column. The narrative repeats it: "$54,000 for Flock Cameras (currently grant funded)." In the same table Cellebrite, Leads Online, Biddle, Genasys and TransUnion all show the requested figure again in the final column; the Flock row shows a dash.

What that dash means is not stated in the file, and the FY2027 budget as adopted is not something PolkTX has read. It is not evidence the request was refused.

County record · Minutes file 3356

August 25, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 2

The $54,000 is not in the budget the Court adopted

“ADOPT THE FY 2027 BUDGET.”

Adopted 4 votes to 1 on a roll call. Motioned by Jerry Cassity, seconded by Milton Purvis, “to adopt the FY2027 budget with a $2,200 increase in the pay scale”. Purvis, Cassity, Robertson and Judge Murphy voted yes; Commissioner DuBose voted no. The word Flock appears nowhere in the adopted budget, and the Sheriff's contracts account, 010-2560-3560, is set at $26,888 — which is the department's request of $80,888 less the $54,000 Flock line exactly, and is also the exact sum of the five other contracts it asked for: Cellebrite $15,450, Leads Online $3,922, Biddle $2,490, Genasys $3,060 and TransUnion $1,966.

So the Flock request was the one item in that account the Court did not fund. The budget does not say why, and a line absent from an adopted budget is not the same as a service cancelled — the Sheriff told the Court in May that a grant was paying for it.

County record · Minutes file 4074

September 15, 2026 · PolkTX · item Chapter 552

PolkTX asks the county for the missing minutes — and gets an answer on day five

“THE MINUTES OF THE COMMISSIONERS COURT MEETING OF 13 FEBRUARY 2024, AND SPECIFICALLY WHAT THEY RECORD FOR ITEM 11 — THE MOTION, WHO MADE IT, WHO SECONDED IT AND THE VOTE.”

A Public Information Act request filed through the county's own records portal. Nine items: the missing minutes, every amendment and renewal to the Flock agreement, what the county has actually paid, the grant the Sheriff told the Court was funding it, the earlier donation, the justification behind the $54,000, where the cameras are, the rules governing their use, and the correspondence with the vendor. Answered on 2026-09-22, the fifth business day. The county released eighteen documents, 144 pages, covering eight of the nine items: four MVCPA grant applications, three grant awards and acceptances, four resolutions, the Flock service agreement and order form, and four cancelled checks. It named the grant this page had been unable to name. Item 7, the number and location of the cameras, was referred to the Attorney General the same day.

Credit where it is due: ten business days is the statutory outside edge and the county used five. The brief to the Attorney General on the one refused item was filed inside the same window rather than after it, and copied to the requester, so the status of every one of the nine items was known on the same day. This page notes when a body is slow or silent, and it is worth noting when one is neither.

This is the only entry here that is not the county's record. It is ours, and it is on the page because a page that says a document is missing should also say what it did about that.

The ten business days — answered

Filed September 15, 2026.

Answered on the fifth business day, five inside the ten. Eight of the nine items were produced; the ninth, the camera count and locations, went to the Attorney General the same day, which is one of the three things section 552.301 allows a body to do inside this window.

Under section 552.221 a governmental body must produce public information promptly. If it cannot do so within ten business days it must certify that in writing and give a date when it can. Under 552.301, if it wants to withhold anything it must ask the Attorney General within the same ten business days and tell the requestor it has done so.

Ten business days is not a deadline to hand everything over. It is the point by which the county must have produced the records, said in writing when it will, or gone to the Attorney General. A day counter is a prompt to follow up, not an accusation.

The county records portal · Request

September 16, 2026 · PolkTX · item Chapter 552

PolkTX asks Onalaska what happened to item 12

“THE DISPOSITION OF ITEM 12 ON THE AGENDA OF 10 SEPTEMBER 2024 — "REVIEW AND APPROVE POLICE DEPARTMENT POLICY 9.1 - FLOCK CAMERAS". ANY RECORD SHOWING WHETHER THE ITEM WAS CONSIDERED, TABLED, WITHDRAWN, PASSED OVER OR VOTED ON, AND IF VOTED ON, THE MOTION, THE SECOND AND THE VOTE.”

A Public Information Act request emailed to [email protected], the address Section 2 of the city’s own Resolution 2026-019 designates. Seven items: the disposition of item 12, Policy 9.1 itself, the Flock Safety agreement, what has paid for the cameras by year and the two adopted budgets the city has not published, the camera count and locations, any data-sharing agreement, and any staff report prepared for that meeting. It cited the media exemption Section 10 of the same resolution recognises — which on a closer reading does less than that sentence implied, and the correction is below. The city acknowledged receipt on 2026-09-16 and answered with a cost estimate: six hours of labour at $18.75 an hour, $112.50, plus 20 per cent overhead of $22.50, $135.00 in total, with a deposit of the full $135 required before any work begins. Under section 552.2615 an estimate over $40 must be itemised in writing before the work is done, and the requester has ten business days to accept, modify the request or complain to the Attorney General, or the request is treated as withdrawn.

The second entry here that is not a body’s own record. It is ours, and it is on the page for the same reason the county one is: a page that says the record is missing something should also say what it did about that. The city publishes no records portal, so nothing timestamps this filing — the date is the day it was sent. Two things about that estimate are worth recording. The Attorney General's cost rules set the personnel charge at $15.00 an hour with overhead at 20 per cent of it (1 Texas Administrative Code 70.3); at that rate six hours is $90.00 plus $18.00, or $108.00. The city's $18.75 is 25 per cent above the published rate and its letter does not say under what authority. And the media exemption this request cited is narrower than PolkTX first described it: section 552.275 and Section 10 of the city's resolution exempt qualifying media from the personnel-time LIMIT a body may set before it starts recovering costs — not less than 36 hours a year — not from ordinary charges, and six hours is nowhere near that limit. Section 10 also requires the requester to work for a qualifying outlet “for substantial financial gain”. On this estimate the exemption does not reduce anything, and saying otherwise would be PolkTX misreading a rule in its own favour.

The ten business days — answered

Filed September 16, 2026.

The city replied on business day 5 with an itemised cost estimate, and again on 24 September with a revised one and a substantive answer on item 12. The countdown stops there; what is outstanding now is production, not a response.

Under section 552.221 a governmental body must produce public information promptly. If it cannot do so within ten business days it must certify that in writing and give a date when it can. Section 3 of the city’s own Resolution 2026-019 applies the same ten days to a finding that no responsive records exist.

Ten business days is not a deadline to hand everything over, and with no portal behind the inbox the clock runs from RECEIPT rather than from sending. A day counter is a prompt to follow up, not an accusation.

City record · Request

September 16, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item Corrected Minutes

The county publishes the minutes, the morning after being asked

“11. MOTIONED BY MARK DUBOSE, SECONDED BY JERRY CASSITY, TO APPROVE FLOCK SYSTEM FOR SHERIFF’S OFFICE IN THE AMOUNT OF $31,600 AND $1,600 TO BE FUNDED FROM SHERIFF’S CURRENT BUDGET. ALL VOTING YES.”

Four pages, typed Minutes and named "Corrected Minutes", timestamped 11:21 UTC on September 16, 2026. They carry every marker the old file lacked: the "Be it remembered" opening, 21 recorded motions, 20 votes, the agenda posting number and the adjournment. The file the portal had been serving, 3403, is no longer published for this meeting.

PolkTX filed its request on September 15 and these appeared the next morning. That is the sequence; PolkTX cannot show the county acted because of the request, and does not claim it. Item 1 of that request is answered. The other eight are not.

County record · Minutes file 4630

September 22, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 25

The Sheriff comes back for $45,000, and the Court has to find it

“DISCUSS AND TAKE ANY AND ALL NECESSARY ACTION RELATING TO FUNDING OF THE FLOCK CAMERA SYSTEM FOR THE POLK COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE, INCLUDING CONSIDERATION OF THE SHERIFF'S REQUEST FOR $45,000 IN COUNTY FUNDING AND DETERMINATION OF A FUNDING SOURCE.”

Heard on the morning of September 22, 2026. Minutes are not published yet. Two things on the face of the item were new when it was posted. The request was $45,000, not the $54,000 the Court declined to carry into the FY2027 budget four weeks earlier — $9,000 less, and the agenda did not say why. And the item asked the Court to determine a funding source, which is the county stating in its own words that the adopted budget does not contain one. The agenda packet published with this meeting answers the first of those; see the next entry.

What the Court did with it. The minutes for this meeting will say what was moved, who seconded it and how each commissioner voted; until they are published this page records the question and not an answer. The funding source the Court was asked to find is named nowhere in the agenda or the packet — though what the $45,000 would replace is now known, from the grant awards released later the same day under records request 26-1057.

County record · Agenda file 4635

September 22, 2026 · Polk County Commissioners Court · item 25 (agenda packet, pages 314-315 of 319)

The Sheriff's own letter: the $9,000 is asset forfeiture, and the state has stopped paying

“Texas Governor Greg Abbott has determined that state funding may not be used for FLOCK camera systems. As a result, the Polk County Sheriff's Office must identify an alternative source of funding to maintain this valuable law-enforcement resource.”

Sheriff Byron Lyons' request letter is in the packet, and it answers the question the agenda left open. The $9,000 did not come off the price, the camera count or the term: the Sheriff writes that he agreed to use $9,000 from the Asset Forfeiture Fund to satisfy the required grant match, which leaves the $45,000 he is asking the Court for. $45,000 plus $9,000 is the $54,000 the Court declined to carry into the FY2027 budget four weeks earlier. The letter also states why the need arose now, and it is not a county decision: the Governor has barred state funding for Flock. That matches the order Abbott gave state agencies on August 27, 2026, reported statewide at the time. The letter adds one more fact the county's own record had never carried — the Sheriff's Office asked for this money in each of the past two budget cycles and was refused both times, because the grant was still paying.

The letter never names the grant. It establishes that one exists, that it requires a match, and that state money is now barred from it, which is more than any county document had said before. The name came six hours later from a different source: the county released records request 26-1057 the same day, and the awards in it are the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority's — see the grant table further down this page. Both statements are true of their own document, which is why they sit next to each other: read only the packet the Court was given and you still could not say who was paying. The letter's performance figures — 87 LPR notifications, 11 stolen vehicle recoveries, 8 stolen plate recoveries, 2 catalytic converter recoveries, 11 arrests, 12 warrants cleared and 1 missing person recovered, January through August 2026 — are the Sheriff's own count in his own funding request. No audit of them exists in the record and PolkTX has not verified them. The letter cites particular investigations as well; those are left out here, because this page is about what the cameras cost and who authorised them, not about cases. This packet is a scanned document with no text layer and was read by OCR at 200 dpi. Checked again on 2026-09-23, the day after the meeting: no minutes are published, and the county has replaced the packet with a 445-page “Agenda Packet fully executed”, fileId 4648. All 276 of its scanned pages were OCR’d and it contains no record of what the Court did with item 25 — the Sheriff’s letter is simply further in, at pages 440 to 441, and the 126 added pages are budget reports and other items’ backup. An executed packet is still the material the Court was handed, not the record of how it voted. The original fileId 4638 cited above still serves, so this citation has not gone stale.

County record · Agenda Packet file 4638

September 24, 2026 · City of Onalaska · item Chapter 552

Onalaska answers the question for nothing, and halves the price of the rest

“the item concerning Police Department Policy 9.1 – Flock Cameras was not passed by the City Council. The approved minutes document the actions taken on the other listed action items but contain no action or vote on the Flock policy item.”

THE ANSWER CAME FREE. The disposition of item 12 — the question this page has carried since the 2024 agenda was read — is answered in the body of the city’s email, before any money changed hands. The council did not pass the Flock policy. THE ESTIMATE WAS CUT IN HALF. $135.00 became $72.00: four hours rather than six, at $15.00 an hour rather than $18.75, plus 20 per cent overhead of $12.00, electronic delivery at no charge. $15.00 is the rate 1 Texas Administrative Code 70.3 sets; the first estimate was 25 per cent above it. The deposit is gone too, and correctly — section 552.263 permits one only above $100. Every objection PolkTX raised was met, and none of it required a complaint to the Attorney General. The city also applied the fee schedule in force rather than the one that takes effect on 13 October, which is the more expensive of the two. RECORDS THE CITY FOUND THAT WERE NOT ASKED FOR BY NAME: Police Department Policy 5.4 — Automated License Plate Recognition, effective 1 September 2025 and replacing prior policy; ALPR agreements; TxDOT-related documents; DPS records; Flock documentation; and related financial records. PolkTX accepted the $72.00 the same day, inside the ten business days section 552.2615 allows.

Two things this did not settle at the time. Policy 5.4 replaces a PRIOR policy, and the council never adopted 9.1 — so this page asked what had governed the cameras. CORRECTED 2026-10-01: the prior policy is Policy 5.4 itself, adopted by the council 3–0 as Resolution 2024-008 on April 1, 2024. This page said the council was not recorded adopting it; the council is, in minutes the city filed under a 2021 name. The September 1, 2025 version is a reissue approved by the Chief of Police, with the same text. And the TxDOT and DPS records were not on anyone’s list here; what they are is unknown until they arrive. A CORRECTION THE CITY IS OWED. This page said the two adopted budgets were unpublished and the request asked the city for them on that basis. Both are on the city’s site, at names the September sweep never tried, and both have now been read: 36 pages, and neither names Flock, ALPR, a licence plate or a camera. The city was right and this page was wrong, and the budgets have been dropped from the request so nobody is billed for compiling what was public all along.

Not published online — held by PolkTX · Correspondence · PolkTX's transcript

PolkTX's transcript of the email, in full. Not a city publication — the city posts nothing — and not proof: a transcript is only as good as the fact that the city can contradict it and has not. Text rather than a screenshot, because an image cannot be searched, quoted, read aloud, or checked by the tests that keep private addresses off this site.

The contract, line by line

Read out of the county's published file 3396, pages 136-138.

On February 13, 2024 the county executed a Flock Safety order form for four Flock Safety Falcon cameras. It is signed by Sydney Murphy, Polk County Judge. The figures below are the order form's own, and they close: 4 × $1,900 of implementation is $7,600, plus $12,000 of first-year subscription is the $19,600 due at signing, plus $12,000 for year two is the $31,600 contract total.

TermWhat the order form says
VendorFlock Group, Inc.
Cameras4 × Flock Safety Falcon
SoftwareFlockOS, included
Initial term24 months
Renewal term24 months
Retention period30 days
Payment termsNet 30
BillingAnnual plan, first year invoiced at signing
Implementation$1,900 × 4 = $7,600
Due at signing$19,600
Annual recurring$12,000
Estimated tax$0
Contract total$31,600

On the copy the county published, the Flock Group signature block — name, title and date — is blank. Only the county's side is filled in.

Sources · 1

Read page by page out of the county's published 143-page file for the February 13, 2024 meeting. The arithmetic closes: 4 x $1,900 implementation is $7,600, plus $12,000 first-year recurring is the $19,600 due at signing, plus $12,000 for year two is the $31,600 contract total.

The meeting whose minutes took two and a half years

The contract was signed on February 13, 2024. For the next two and a half years the county published no minutes for that meeting. The file its portal served as the minutes — fileId 3403, 143 pages — was the agenda and its attachments, and it carried none of the markers every other set of Polk County minutes carries.

They exist now. On September 16, 2026 the county published fileId 4630, four pages, typed Minutes and named Corrected Minutes. Item 11 reads in full:

“11. MOTIONED BY MARK DUBOSE, SECONDED BY JERRY CASSITY, TO APPROVE FLOCK SYSTEM FOR SHERIFF’S OFFICE IN THE AMOUNT OF $31,600 AND $1,600 TO BE FUNDED FROM SHERIFF’S CURRENT BUDGET. ALL VOTING YES.”

The $31,600 is the contract total on the order form above. The vote that approved the county’s cameras is on the public record, with a mover, a seconder and a result.

In every set of Polk County minutes3403, served until Sep 20264630, published Sep 16 2026Apr 23 2024 minutes
“Be it remembered…”011
“duly made, considered and passed”011
“MOTIONED BY”02118
“ALL VOTING”02018
Agenda posting number011
Adjournment021

PolkTX filed a Public Information Act request for these minutes through the county’s own records portal on September 15, 2026. The county published them at 11:21 UTC on September 16 — the following morning. Whether one caused the other is not something this page can show, and it does not claim it. The dates are the dates.

Item 1 of that request is answered. The other eight — the amendments and renewals, what has actually been paid, the grant, the earlier donation, the $54,000, the camera locations, the use policy and the vendor correspondence — are not, and the clock on the timeline above is still running for them.

Who has been paying

The county has never carried the running cost in its own budget. For two years a private donor covered it, and in 2026 the Sheriff told the Court a grant had been covering it too. What the city pays is a separate question and is not answered anywhere in its council record: the April 2022 minutes note that cost was discussed, without stating a figure.

Onalaska publishes its budgets, and they are silent too. All four the city has posted were read — the approved budgets for 2023-24 and 2024-25 and the proposed budgets for 2024-25 and 2025-26, 68 pages, every one a scan — along with all seven of its council packets, another 391 pages. None of the budgets contains the word Flock, or ALPR, licence plate, plate reader or surveillance. Its police pages do carry the accounts such a subscription would sit in — software expense, computer maintenance and IT services, new equipment — and a grant booked in and out at $30,000 a year that the budget never names. Which of those pays for the cameras, if any of them does, is the fourth item of the request PolkTX has drafted to the city.

The published set stops short of the present. The council adopted the 2025-26 budget as Ordinance 464 on September 9, 2025, and the 2026-27 budget was item 9 on the agenda of September 8, 2026. Neither adopted document is on the city's budgets page, where the most recent file is a proposed budget. PolkTX reads that page by probing the city's document store, because its listing pages are Cloudflare-blocked — so this is “not found”, not “not published”, and the request asks for both budgets rather than concluding anything from their absence.

What the adopted budget did with it

Account 010-2560-3560 — Sheriff's Office — Contracts, from the county's published FY2027 budget.

The Sheriff's FY2027 request for this accountAmount
Cellebrite$15,450
Leads Online$3,922
Biddle Consulting Group$2,490
Genasys$3,060
TransUnion$1,966
Flock Camera Maintenance Agreement (new) $54,000
Requested$80,888
Adopted, 25 August 2026$26,888

$80,888 less $54,000 is $26,888. The five other contracts in that request also add to $26,888 on their own. Both readings land on the adopted figure to the dollar, and Flock is not named anywhere in the budget, so the Flock line is the one item in this account the Court did not fund.

A line absent from an adopted budget is not a service cancelled. The Sheriff told the Court in May 2026 that a grant was paying for the cameras and that the office was applying for another. What is paying for them in FY2027 is not stated in anything PolkTX has been able to read.

Sources · 2

Read out of the county's published FY2027 annual budget, page for department 2560, and checked against the Sheriff's request in the preliminary budget of 14 July 2026.

The grant, at last named

From records request 26-1057, released 2026-09-22.

This page spent months recording 'a grant, named nowhere'. It has a name: the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority, an arm of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, under its SB224 Catalytic Converter Theft Prevention programme. The money reaches it through a $1 fee added to every Texas auto insurance policy by a 2023 law written to fight catalytic converter theft.

Polk County produced these on the fifth of the ten business days the law allows, and filed its brief to the Attorney General on the one item it refused inside the same window rather than after it, copying the requester. This page is hard on bodies that publish late or not at all, and it would be keeping that score dishonestly if it stayed quiet when one is quick.

YearGrant numberAwardCounty matchTotalTerm
FY2024 224-24-1870000 $55,250 none $55,250 2024-05-08 to 2025-05-07
FY2026 608-26-1870000C $45,000 $9,000 $54,000 2025-09-01 to 2026-08-31
FY2027 — $45,000 $9,000 $54,000 not stated in the award

What this settles. The $54,000 the Court declined to put in the FY2027 budget, and the $45,000 plus $9,000 the Sheriff asked for on 2026-09-22, are not county arithmetic. They are the MVCPA grant's own budget lines, to the dollar: award $45,000, required cash match $9,000, total $54,000. The Sheriff's offer to meet the $9,000 from asset forfeiture is an offer to cover the match; the $45,000 he asked the Court for is the state's share, which the Governor's order has put in doubt.

Awarded 2026-08-03 by the MVCPA board at its 2026-07-24 meeting, on an application Judge Murphy submitted 2026-05-05. Requested $45,000, awarded $45,000, minimum cash match required $9,000. Overall application score 14.25. This award is dated twenty-four days BEFORE the Governor's 2026-08-27 order barring state agencies from spending on Flock.

Both accepted awards carry a non-supplanting condition — grant funds must supplement and not replace money that would otherwise have been available — and an intelligence-sharing condition requiring funded personnel to take part in MVCPA webinars and virtual command centres.

What the county has actually paid

From records request 26-1057, released 2026-09-22.

DateCheckAmountInvoiceAccount
2024-04-09 304450 $21,250.00 INV-36465 010-222-222560
2024-09-10 1241 $55,250.00 INV-46700 035-7499-6226
2025-09-23 312725 $15,000.00 INV-74252 010-222-222560
2026-05-01 316022 $350.00 INV-92013 010-222-222560
Total $91,850.00

The September 2024 payment of $55,250 equals the FY2024 grant award to the dollar, and is drawn on a different account from the other three. Four checks is what the county produced; it is not proof that four is all there were. The request asked what the county has paid and this is the answer it gave.

Agencies known to use them here

Last reviewed 2026-10-01.

Polk County · tier A

Polk County Sheriff's Office

Four Flock Safety Falcon cameras under an order form signed by the County Judge on February 13, 2024. 24-month initial term, 24-month renewal, 30-day retention, $31,600 total with $12,000 recurring annually. Ratified by Commissioners Court on April 23, 2024.

Verified 2026-09-15 · Source

City of Livingston · tier A

Livingston Police Department

Five Flock cameras, authorised by City Council on April 12, 2022 as Resolution No. 596 and sited, per the council's own minutes, at the five major entrances into the city. Released audit logs show 15,097 searches over 1,410 days, September 20, 2022 through July 30, 2026.

Verified 2026-09-15 · Source

City of Onalaska · tier A

Onalaska Police Department

The council adopted the department’s ALPR policy, Policy 5.4, as Resolution 2024-008 on April 1, 2024, 3–0 at a special called meeting. A second, Flock-specific policy, 9.1, went before the council on September 10, 2024 as item 12 and was not passed: the minutes do not record it, the city confirmed in writing it did not pass, and the Polk County Enterprise reported it was skipped because a policy was already in place. Released audit logs show 567 searches over 515 days, March 3, 2025 through July 30, 2026. Two residents have since objected at consecutive meetings: Robert Mondshine on June 9, 2026 and Bobbie Moore on July 14, 2026, both recorded at public forum as "Concerns regarding Flock Camera use."

Verified 2026-09-16 · Source

Absence from this list is not a finding

Every agency on this list got here from a document. Nothing put the rest of them anywhere: released Flock audit data covers only the agencies that chose to publish it, and the Polk County Sheriff's Office does not appear in that data at all — while holding a signed contract for four cameras. An agency that is not listed here is unverified, not confirmed free of plate readers.

Where they are, as far as the record says

One document in either body's record says where a camera is. The City of Livingston's minutes of April 12, 2022 record the council discussing “location of the cameras at the five major entrances into the city”. Nothing since updates that count: on November 12, 2025 the council discussed “the addition of outbound cameras… and the number of cameras currently in use”, and the number was not minuted.

The county's order form says four Falcons and stops. It does not say where they are mounted, and nothing else in the county record locates them.

That is why the November 2025 resolution matters: Resolution No. 643 authorises a multiple-use agreement with TxDOT allowing cameras in state highway right-of-way, which is the mechanism for mounting them on the highways rather than on city property.

A drone is not a plate reader

Livingston City Council minutes mention a “FLOCK drone program” twice - on November 12, 2025, in discussion of potential grant funding, and on April 14, 2026, when the department described “potential uses of the FLOCK drone”. Neither meeting voted on a drone and no drone purchase, contract or deployment appears anywhere in the city's or the county's record.

A drone is not a licence plate reader, and this page is about plate readers. It is noted because the city's own minutes raise it twice and leaving it out would be the odd choice.

What a search total does and does not mean

A search timestamp records when a query was run, not when an offence happened. A stated reason does not establish that a crime occurred or that any particular vehicle or person was involved. One investigation can produce many searches, and some entries are training or testing. Totals cannot be compared between agencies, because the audit periods agencies have released differ in length — 1,410 days for one department here, 515 for the other.

What the record still does not say

  1. What do the February 13, 2024 minutes say?

    The county publishes a file for that meeting typed "Minutes" and named "Corrected Minutes". It is 143 pages of agenda and attachments. It contains none of the markers every other set of Polk County minutes carries — no "Be it remembered", no "duly made, considered and passed", not one "MOTIONED BY" where the April 2024 minutes have eighteen. The minutes themselves were adopted by the Court on February 27, 2024. They exist; the portal serves the wrong file.

    Chapter 552 request filed 2026-09-15 through the county records portal. Tenth business day 2026-09-29.

  2. Was the $54,000 funded? No.

    Answered by the county's own published budget, not by a records request. The FY2027 budget the Court adopted on August 25, 2026 sets the Sheriff's contracts account at $26,888, which is the $80,888 requested less the $54,000 Flock line to the dollar, and is also exactly the sum of the five other contracts in that request. Flock is not named anywhere in the adopted budget. What remains open is why. On September 22, 2026 the Court takes up item 25, the Sheriff’s request for $45,000 in county funding for the same system and a determination of where it comes from — which confirms from the county’s own agenda that the adopted budget holds no source for it, and puts a second, lower figure on the record without explaining the difference.

    Resolved from the adopted budget. The follow-on question is folded into the records request, and item 25 of September 22, 2026 is where the county answers part of it in public.

  3. Which grant has been paying for it? MVCPA.

    Answered on 2026-09-22 out of the county's own documents, released under records request 26-1057. It is the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority, part of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, under the SB224 Catalytic Converter Theft Prevention programme — funded by a $1 fee added to every Texas auto insurance policy by a 2023 law written to fight catalytic converter theft. Three awards: FY2024, grant 224-24-1870000, $55,250 with no match at 100% reimbursement; FY2026, grant 608-26-1870000C, $45,000 with a $9,000 cash match, $54,000 total at 83.33%; and FY2027, awarded 2026-08-03, $45,000 with a $9,000 minimum match. Judge Murphy signed the acceptances. This page had guessed at fund 046, the SB22 salary assistance fund, on the grounds that it was the only law enforcement grant in the budget books large enough to matter. That guess was wrong, and it was wrong in an instructive way: the money was never in the budget books at all, because a reimbursement grant administered through a state portal does not have to appear there the way a line item does.

    Answered by records request 26-1057. Nothing further is needed.

  4. Was the contract renewed?

    A 24-month term signed February 13, 2024 runs to about February 2026. No renewal item appears in any 2026 agenda or minutes. The May 2026 budget workshop shows the system still operating, so the absence of a court item most likely means renewal needed no separate action. It is not evidence the contract lapsed. Answered on 2026-09-22 from the service agreement itself, released under records request 26-1057. Section 7.1 renews the agreement automatically for successive terms of the greater of one year or the length on the order form — 24 months here — unless a party gives notice of non-renewal at least thirty days before the end of the current term. So there was never a renewal for the Court to vote on. The absence of a renewal in four and a half years of minutes is what the contract provides for, not an omission.

    Included in the records request.

  5. Where are the cameras?

    The county's order form says four Falcons and does not say where they are mounted. The city's record is better but out of date: the council minutes of April 12, 2022 place five cameras “at the five major entrances into the city”, and on November 12, 2025 the council discussed adding outbound cameras and “the number of cameras currently in use” without minuting the number. This is the one item of the nine the county did not answer. On 2026-09-22 the Polk County Criminal District Attorney asked the Attorney General for a ruling allowing it to be withheld, arguing that the number and locations would reveal surveillance locations, deployment patterns and blind spots, and would expose the cameras to tampering. The brief cites section 552.108(b)(1) in its body and section 552.101 in its closing request, which are different exceptions. Two things are worth recording next to it. The count is already public: the county's own order form, published in the February 2024 agenda packet long before this request, lists four Falcon cameras. And the request was for the number currently in service, which the county has not said is still four.

    Referred to the Attorney General, Open Records Division, on 2026-09-22. Awaiting a ruling.

  6. Did Onalaska’s council adopt the policy governing its cameras? Yes — in April 2024.

    Answered from the council’s own minutes, found on 2026-10-01. On April 1, 2024, at a special called meeting, the council adopted Resolution 2024-008, Police Department Policy 5.4 Automated License Plate Recognition, moved by Kevin Arnett, seconded by Zachary Davies, all present voting for. The minutes are on the city’s site under a 2021 file name, which is why earlier sweeps missed them. Item 12 of September 10, 2024 — “Review and approve Police Department Policy 9.1 - Flock Cameras” — was not passed; the city said so in writing on 2026-09-24, and the Polk County Enterprise reported at the time that it was skipped “because a policy was already in place”. The current version of 5.4, effective September 1, 2025, was reissued by the Chief of Police. CORRECTED: this answer used to read “No”, and said 5.4 replaced a prior policy the council was not recorded adopting. Both were wrong.

What is deliberately not on this page

At the same February 25, 2025 meeting that accepted the Flock donation, item 16 was an unfunded request from the Sheriff's Office for the installation of cameras at the Polk County jail, $31,841.60 — within $242 of the Flock contract total. It is jail security, not a plate reader, and it is not on this page.

Axon body-worn cameras, courthouse security systems, a Fire Marshal's camera purchase, and the front licence plate brackets itemised on patrol vehicle quotes, which is what most of the keyword matches in the scan turned out to be. On the same September 22, 2026 agenda, item 13A asks the Court for camera equipment and licences from Axon Enterprises on five-year terms for law enforcement, not to exceed $150,000. The agenda does not say what kind of camera, Axon sells several, and nothing read so far ties that line to plate reading — so it is named here rather than counted there.

The argument

Supporters point to recovered stolen vehicles, missing people found, and AMBER and Silver alerts. Critics, the American Civil Liberties Union among them, argue the systems are powerful, lightly regulated and have been misused by agencies elsewhere. Some Texas counties have ended their contracts. PolkTX takes no position and accepts no advertising on this page.

The crowdsourced camera map

DeFlock is a volunteer project that plots reported plate reader locations on OpenStreetMap. The map application is provided by FlockHopper and published in the DeFlock project's own GitHub organisation on a deflock.org subdomain. Neither is maintained or checked by PolkTX. Locations may be incomplete, out of date, moved or misidentified, and most carry no record of when they were last confirmed.

An unmarked area has not been surveyed

It is not confirmed camera-free. Nobody has looked.

Open the DeFlock map over Polk County →

How this was put together

Every published Commissioners Court agenda and minutes file between 2022-01-11 and 2026-09-08 was downloaded and read as raw text — 301 files across 152 meetings, including 25 that are scans with no text layer and had to be put through OCR first, and four that are PDF portfolios and had to be opened up. The City of Livingston's Agenda Center was read the same way: 160 council agendas and minutes for 2021 to 2026, 103 of them scans. Summarising a long attachment is how the county contract was missed the first time, so nothing here rests on a summary.

Agenda packets are the known gap: there are 127 of them, some over 50 MB, and three were read in full because the trail led into them. A Flock item could sit in a packet without reaching an agenda or a set of minutes.

If anything here is wrong, tell us and we will fix it and say what changed. See the corrections policy.